Bygones: Tracking station's past
FORTY-SIX years separate these two views of Grimsby's railway station, writes Dave Strickland.
The original view is well-known. It was taken in 1961 and appears to show the station master of that time.
There are quite a few interesting contrasts between past and present, but passenger operations remain vibrant.
The station was refurbished some years ago and now sports a new roof as well as lesser structural and cosmetic changes.
Business Cards From Only £10.95 Delivered www.myprint-247.co.ukView details
Our heavyweight cards have FREE UV silk coating, FREE next day delivery & VAT included. Choose from 1000's of pre-designed templates or upload your own artwork. Orders dispatched within 24hrs.
Terms: Visit our site for more products: Business Cards, Compliment Slips, Letterheads, Leaflets, Postcards, Posters & much more. All items are free next day delivery. www.myprint-247.co.uk
Contact: 01858 468192
Valid until: Sunday, June 30 2013
Happily, the original footbridge remains, but sadly, the kiosk has gone. This was run by WH Smith and was always full of books, newspapers and magazines.
Today, clothing and uniform styles are much less formal, both among railway staff and the travelling public.
The present-day photograph was taken further back to show the station entrance/exit.
Unlike today, in 1961 the entrance was always manned by an inspector guarding the way, permitting passage in and out only to those with valid tickets.
Both views portray diesel cars, but in 1961 there were still plenty of steam locomotive hauled trains. The first diesel sets had appeared in the town in about 1956.